EN executive board members recognized for service

Two Energy Northwest executive board members will receive awards next month at the Northwest Public Power Association annual conference in Anchorage, Alaska.

Sid Morrison

EN Executive Board Chair Sid Morrison

Former congressman and Washington state Secretary of Transportation Sid Morrison will receive the Paul J. Raver community service award. The award is given to individuals and organizations that show superior leadership in the betterment of cities, locales, states or regions.

“Sid sets the bar quite high with more than 50 years of community service,” said Mark Reddemann, Energy Northwest CEO. “His diplomacy and grassroots-style leadership has helped Energy Northwest strive for the highest standards of excellence.”

Morrison joined the executive board in 2001 and has been the chair since 2006. During his tenure, EN has completed and expanded the Nine Canyon Wind Project and the White Bluffs Solar Station. Morrison was also instrumental in securing the 20-year license renewal for Columbia Generating Station.

Morrison’s accomplishments also include record generation or availability at all EN projects as well as agency-wide safety records, and developing the Excellence in Governance model, which has since been adopted by several state utilities.

As chairman, Morrison has teamed with other companies to promote a commercial, small modular reactor project in the western United States.

Morrison’s service record extends beyond Energy Northwest. He serves as gubernatorial appointee to the Central Washington University Board of Trustees and sits on the Central Washington State Fair Board. He served as Washington state Secretary of Transportation from 1993-2001 and the Washington state House of Representatives form 1967-1974. He served in the state Senate from 1975 to 1980.

EN executive board member Sen. Tim Sheldon will receive NWPPA’s John M. George public service award. The award recognizes policymaking officers of member systems that have demonstrated remarkable service to public power.

Tim Sheldon

EN Executive Board Member Sen. Tim Sheldon

“Tim has been a longtime friend and strong advocate of Washington state’s public utilities and has been intricately involved in the public power community during the last several decades,” said Reddemann.

“Tim personifies the ideal candidate that has outstanding industry and personal achievements during his career and involvement with NWPPA and the public power community,” said Karl Denison, Mason County Public Utility District 1 board president. “He is a great ally and friend of PUD 1, Energy Northwest and public power.”

The Energy Northwest board of directors appointed Sheldon to the executive board in 2003. He has been the committee chair of the Administrative, Energy and Members Services committee since 2006. Sheldon also served as a PUD commissioner at Mason County PUD 1 from 1999 to 2002.

Energy Northwest nominated Morrison. Mason PUD 1 and Energy Northwest co-nominated Sheldon.

(Posted by Kevin Shaub)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s